Carpet Coastal Weight

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcus

Reaction score
Hey just wondering if 800grams is an okay weight for my 4 year old coastal carpet python. She was slow to eat in her early days and now feed a sub adult rat once every 7 days. Any advice would be greatly appreciated
Cheers, Marcus

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'm no expert but that does seem pretty light on. My albino Darwin boy is 3 and weighs just over 2kg, and that's with 3-4 months of brumation/no eating last year. How does your python look? Can you see his spine projecting at all in a 'triangular' shape? This would indicate he is underweight. A 4 year old coastal should be able to take adult/large rats pretty easily - you would truly be surprised what they can eat. Does he have a nice 'bulge' after eating? This is what you should aim for.

I'm no expert but that does seem pretty light on. My albino Darwin boy is 3 and weighs just over 2kg, and that's with 3-4 months of brumation/no eating last year. How does your python look? Can you see his spine projecting at all in a 'triangular' shape? This would indicate he is underweight. A 4 year old coastal should be able to take adult/large rats pretty easily - you would truly be surprised what they can eat. Does he have a nice 'bulge' after eating? This is what you should aim for.

Thanks for your reply little may!! My vet said (4 months ago) she is at a healthy weight just a slow grower. Weighed her again today and is at 1.010kg. Fed her a "small" adult rat tonight and she took straight to it and has a much larger buldge after this feed. I was what vet says "most likely feeding too small rats but she looked much more healthy then an overweight snake"