Coastal Carpet setup recommendations

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Tomahawk7

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi, I recently purchased a Coastal that I fell in love with. I’ve never kept a snake because Army life. But worked reptile removal in Louisiana while in high school and have been herping my whole life across North and South America, the Middle East and North Africa. So this fella acts like he is terrified of the hide I bought him. He will nose in about an inch, then shoots straight back like he seen a ghost. Also do any of you have a thermostat that you would recommend? I need it to have day and night setting that is reliable because I work in law enforcement and my job keeps me away from home for 18 hours or so about 3-4 nights a week. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
[doublepost=1561787544,1561786968][/doublepost]23367DA0-629D-4737-8D37-57FA4AE92B3F.jpeg This is his current setup.

What temperature are you providing (the actual surface temperature measured with an IR gun or at least digital thermometer)? I take it the hide is over a heat source? Be very careful with that if you don't currently have a thermostat controlling it.

Typically though, you want to have a hide on a "cool" side and one on a "hot" side with a heat source. More hides are typically better for their stress.
In regards to the heat source itself, I would recommend a Heat Cord under a tile - Though you could use a globe I suppose.

For the thermostat, if you use a mat or cord then a simple on/off or pulse thermostat is fine. If you end up with a globe, use a dimmer. I have been using Habistat thermostats but others probably know easier to obtain and cheaper brands perhaps.