Diamond Python Housing / Heating

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

chr1ssso

Reaction score
Hi All,

I have been keeping snaked about 5 years now and always learning, as i am new to Diamonds i wanted some comments on my setup and try and come up with a general consensus to make sure i am doing it right!

The enclosure is 3ft x 3ft x 2ft i have a male he is about 3 years old, i provide hides on both ends as well as branches that go up and across, currently as i type this he came out from his hide under the heat with about an hour of UVB left and is quite happily sitting on the top branch midway across. all lamps and heat sources are caged.

firstly i live in Melbourne, I basically run a 5.o UVB fluoro on a 12/12 schedule as far as heating is concerned my home never really gets cooler than about 14 degrees in winter and never hotter than about 25 in summer i heat my diamond as follows

Thermo set to 32 degrees from 8am - 2pm then no heat at all till the morning, although currently i have it set not to fall below 20 degrees, its 7:30 pm now and its reading 25.4 on the hot end so gradually going down and i suspect it will sit at room temp about 21 degrees through the night.

I am feeding good quality rats once a week / fortnight depending on deification.

So thats basically it in a nutshell, would really like to get some experienced Diamond keepers opinions and any comments / criticism that will help keep my animal in peak health condition.

Regards Chris.

First thing is, good work for checking, diamonds are quite different to normal morelia so extra research is a good idea. If you haven't already, research DPS, Diamond Python Syndrome.