Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

saratoga

Reaction score
Well I think its very straight forward. Am posting this for someone on a photo forum, with their permission.

This snake was photographed in Lamington National Park in Qld.

Can you identify it AND give your reasons as why it is not a very similar snake.

Some tourists identified it as a python!!

No guesses please!

Rough-scaledSnake-20100124-1.jpg

its a tiger snake and its not a roughy because its a tiger snake.

lol python? Really? Hell I'm relatively new to snakes in the whole scheme of things, but know it aint a python.. Look at the scales above the eyes, looks like its an angry angry dude. ;)

and not even one person has said roughy yet

Can we please have some reasons WHY to support your decision........ from what you can see in the photo.

Both Tigers and Rough-scales can be banded or unbanded.

I realise most people here can just look at the photo and identify this snake.... but how would you go about explaining to a non herp person why it is one and not the other!

Rough Scales Snake, who says it can't have stripes, there have been many specimen that have had srtipes on them.
Thanks Tim.

pythons and elpids have differnt type heads

tigers are know for there stripes on there body

and roughs can have stripes aswell

best thing to say is don't touch the unless you know what you are doing

Greg,

Its A Tiger Snake....main layman difference between Notechis and Tropidechis is the lack of keels on the scales (very obvious in Roughies) smooth in tigers.

Secondly, the head has a "shiny" appearance and its out during the day....roughies are less shiny and are for the most part nocturnal, but will bask and occasionally hunt during the day

Cheers,
Scott

Cheers,
Scott