Feeding schedules

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Fangs

Reaction score
The post about small head syndrome got me thinking(bit of a shock eh?)

Given that if it is primarily caused from overfeeding what then constitutes overfeeding?

how often should you feed
hatchlings?
juvenilles?
sub adults?
adults?

cheers

I would say that all of them should be fed once every one or twice a week but you just increase the size of the prey. Don't use this as a guide as I am only starting out on snakes myself. I would be interested as to what everyone else has to say.
Cheers Simon

feeding.

hi fangs..good question you have raised and a hard one to answer in a general out line.

We feed our animals on a nine day rotation, weather juvis or adults.The diet is adjusted by the amount they are given eg.. adults that have just finished breeding have there amount increased while returning weight lose from breeding. Juviniles are feed apropreate sized items and as many as they wish, but with this type of feeding it has to be monitored as each animal will have a differant matablism Eg.. very active animals will gain weight at a slower rate than a snake that sits and hides alot. So its really is a try and see type deal as is giving food items of the right size.

Most of the over weight reptiles we have seen (pinheads) have come from what is known as power feeding. This isnt health in our opinion and is done by giving growth suppliments with there food items( such as mutton bird oil.) Most of the time the reason behind this is the $ return on breeding animals earlyer than usual.

If you breed your own rats. Give them good food and that will ensure that your snakes are receiving a good healthy diet as well.
hope that helps a little..
cheers paul.

Re: feeding.

Hi Paul

pythonss said: