Female Diamond python nest box/housing requirements???

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

pyalda

Not so new Member
Reaction score
G'day all,
My female diamond python, roughly 6 foot and abit has become pregnant. shes getting bigger and i cant find any info on the nest box requirements/temps and all. ive seen guys here place a large plastic tub (including the lid) with a hole in it for them, however im unsure as to what bedding to put or if newspaper would work...ive heard it can suck the moisture from the eggs and what not.
so besides the bedding material ive come across yet another question....mind you this is my first time breeding(and hers).
i understand in the wild they lay their eggs then continuously go about trying to seek warmth from the sun then returning to the nest to warm the eggs effectively. Does that mean i must place the container/nest box in the cool part of the enclosure that way she has to get out of the box and onto her heat mat ....thus imitating the natural wild procedure orrrrr do i place the tub over the heat mat/place the heat mat inside at a certain temp that way stays put and happy unless thirsty etc.
and by the way, im guessing the box would be purchased at Bunnings or a local warehouse...or is must it be something specific.
any help will be greatly appreciated
cheers
Phil

I take the eggs off the female and incubate them for a couple of reasons. these days there is plenty of information out there on how to build or buy an incubator and how to incubate.
For the female to naturally incubate the eggs to hatch day, takes a lot of energy, I prefer to take the eggs and then get her feeding again asap.
The eggs like a bit of humidity, which I don't have in my enclosures.