First snake question

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JayRad84

Reaction score
Hi everyone
I'm looking to get a diamond python as my first snake. I'm just a bit confused on how to regulate the cool area for the snake? Where I live can get to below zero overnight during winter and can stay hot during summer. I was wondering how I keep it around 20 degrees. Or is that just a Max temperature for the cool spot? Sorry if this a stupid question I'm just very new to it all.
Thanks a lot

Are you keeping indoors or out?
Mine are indoors and cool end is controlled by ambient temp.

Plenty of people keep Diamonds outdoors in appropriate areas but here are different things to consider.

If you are keeping it indoors, i'd say that ambient temp is more than enough, the cold side doesn't have to be 20 degree's necessarily, just around that number, lower is fine as well. Having the right heating setup will usually ensure a good 'cool' side temp too.

I plan on keeping it inside. Also the reptile store said keep the heat on 24/7 and the snake will move when it's had enough is that right? I've heard most people have the heat on for a few hours a day? Thanks alot for your help!

I plan on keeping it inside. Also the reptile store said keep the heat on 24/7 and the snake will move when it's had enough is that right? I've heard most people have the heat on for a few hours a day? Thanks alot for your help!
You can do either however the best option for a new snake is to keep it on all the time as the other option is for more complex stuff (such as getting ready for breeding(i think*)) yes the snake will move when it's had enough, but it's still very important to keep the right heat temperature 30-34°c