gtp / green tree frog question

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

GRUNT

Reaction score
Hey everyone I was looking for advice on putting green tree frogs in same enclosure as a gtp I understand potential for disease and parasites like tapeworm in frogs but does anyone know if this can be treated or minimised by breeding frogs I remember years ago seeing 4 or 5 green tree frogs in with a gtp at taronga zoo any advice would be appreciated thanks in advance.

I wouldn't advice it, just cause the gtp probably will strike when the frogs jump/ the frogs probably will wanna be near the top I'm assuming, well with my old frogs that was the case and it's just not safe for your frogs, would be very nice if you could!! But then again I'm no expert at all, so I might be wrong.

Their natural prey is manly rodents and sometimes reptiles so my suggestion would be no. I suppose if you kept your GTP well fed it may leave the frogs alone but is it worth the risk.

As the OP indicated, Taronga still has both in the same enclosure. It's likely that baby GTPs eat small frogs (adults don't eat frogs), and it's quite likely that large frogs eat small GTPs (I think Michael C. has a photo?) so just be careful with your sizes and you should be fine as long as there's plenty of room.

Jamie

As the OP indicated, Taronga still has both in the same enclosure. It's likely that baby GTPs eat small frogs (adults don't eat frogs), and it's quite likely that large frogs eat small GTPs (I think Michael C. has a photo?) so just be careful with your sizes and you should be fine as long as there's plenty of room.

Jamie
That's quite interesting that older GTP's don't eat frogs. Can you shed some light as to why they don't?

Adult GTPs don't eat frogs or reptiles.
Adult GTPs don't eat frogs just like you don't eat grass.