Handling Advice appreciated! Newbie here!

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Slo_fuzz

Banned
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm looking for advice on handling juvies that haven't been handled too much. I'm about to bring home my very first snake ever, an 11 month old hypo carpet. He's absolutely beautiful, will post pics asap!!

Anyways he hasn't been handled that much, but doesn't appear to be too snappy, more flighty and unsure. I have handled his father who is a dream and have been told his mother is fairly evenly tempered. Anyways I'm just looking for advice on how to get him to calm down, take more to handling, tips and tricks, all that business as I really want a snake I can have out and enjoy. Thanks guys :)

I've been told is if your worried use a snake hook to get it out and then you can handle, And don't hesitate when picking it up.

yes act confident and dont take no for an answer
make sure your hands dont smell of food
and snakes sort of move from the head so when he/she 'takes off' make sure they are sort of going through your hands just go hand over hand and get the snake to just slither through till it calms down

and only handle for short periods of time

and i find about three days after a good feed is best this way they still have a full belly and are a bit more settled

hope this helps