Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Elapidae1

Very Well-Known Member
Reaction score
Just want peoples thoughts. There is a thread at the moment where someone has been criticized for heading a snake he couldn't identify, he appeared to have at least some knowledge in handling snakes, I have some experience in handling, mainly spotted brown (dugite) and Western Tigers these are the only elapids I'm likely to come into contact with that are considered dangerously venomous besides the common Adder I am licensed to relocate snakes though am far from what I would consider experienced, I believe that I had to start somewhere and if I ever felt out of my depth I would call for assistance from someone with greater experience. there are plenty of snakes that I could come across that could be considered extremely unpleasant, how important is it for me to be able to identify these animals in order to handle them? If someone has experience in handling some highly venomous Elapids does it qualify them to handle the others that he hasn't yet come across and possibly can't ID? Is snake behaviour that variable that a positive ID needs to be made before any attempt at handling it?
For the sake of this thread lets exclude an example of death adders.

Steve

Personally, I reckon if you can't identify it to the point where you know if it's venomous or not don't touch it. If however, you know it's vemonous, know how to handle elapids etc, then not knowing the variety of the elapid in question is rather moot as long as you can tell which part is the dangerous bit isn't it? All I know is that if I saw something other than a python in the wild I'd call someone who knows how to handle them. In my case my husband lol.

yes snake behavior is that variable