hello im a noob

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Milky

Reaction score
hey everyone,
my name is mick im 23 and i live on the gold coast, im only new to keeping reptiles, i got a coastal carpet snake the other day its my first snake 8) its only about 30cm long. im lookin forward to when it gets bigger :twisted: my other hobbies are fishing, fish keeping(african cichlids), riding my bmx and sometimes i surf.. anyways heres a pic of fluffy(just a temporary name til i think of somethin better)
snake.jpg

look forward to talkin to you guys and finding out the stuff i need to know to keep fluffy happy cos all i know is what the guy in the shop tells me and we all know he wants money...
anyways any tips are welcome thanks in advance guys 8)

hey thanks for the warm welcome guys heres some more pics,
snake001.jpg

snake002.jpg

its just an empty fish tank i had layin around and i made the lid with materials from bunnings it cost 6 bucks, i got the wood cut to size and everything for $2 the shade cloth on top was the most expensive thing it was $2.65 and it took me about half an hour to put it all together 8) what do u guys reckon? i have it next to a door so the breeze gets in there. is this enough ventilation? should i put some 6mm gravel for a fish tank in there on the bottom? give me some tips guys...

Ok before the feeding frenzy starts I'll pop this in quickly. Snakes don't usually do very well in glass enclosures, especially not when they've got 4 exposed sides. The glass makes it very hard to regulate the temperatures and the "open" effect of the glass leaves them (especially little ones) feeling vulnerable and can lead to problems with feeding. If it's next to a door which cops a fair bit of sun this can lead to the snake getting quite hot.