Hi, I am a novice

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

GlenClark

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi everybody,

My son has been nagging me for years to get a snake as a pet. I told him he had to wait until he was 10, which is in July.

I would appreciate any tips and advice as I am a complete novice, I have never even held a snake before. My son is keen and has been for ages so I know he is fair dinkum about it and it is not just a passing fad.

Will there be any snakes for sale around July? What sort of enclosure will I need? What sort of snake am I best off getting?

thanks

a good place to start is to yourself as many books as you can. There are quite a few around, go to www.herpshop.com.au and check out his selection.

whilst on your site you will see the herptrader which is classifieds for pythons, and yes you will get pythons in july, the question is do you want a hatchie or adult python? its easier to get hatchies around this time of year then it is in july, but some ppl do have hatchies, well not quite hatchies, but young snakes held back for different reasons.

can't remember the site address, but mike swan herp books is also another great place for books.

can't stress enough how important it is too read as much as you can, then you know what to expect. The net is also full of advice, but not always the right advice, read the books, then question the books on the net if you have any problems.

SW