how are jacky dragons for holding

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
From what I have heard they are more flighty than beardies but with time and patience can get used to you. I suppose the longer they have been in captivity (generation wise) the better they are likely to be. Not sure about the vegies issue sorry.

Depends how tame they are, however if they are not tame they may stay still in your hand when you hold them, but beware they may make a run for it. If you raise them from hatchlings and keep them inside they should be handleable but still take care if handling them outside. If they make a run for it, you may not see them again.:D

I have been breeding Jacky dragons since the early 1990's and keeping them much longer. The animals I have now in my collection are descended from some of the original breeding efforts from that time. Even after all this time of captive breeding and generations of animals in captivity, my individuals still demonstrate skittishness and instinctive reactions to take flight as soon as I try to handle them. They are reasonably comfortable with me and others in the room with them and in fact will actually more often then not move forward to the front of their enclosures because they associate my presence with food.

They will tolerate cleaning and changing water bowls etc, because they are used to it, but any attempt to handle them will always result in them trying to avoid the contact. This is because I minimise the handling of my animals to only when absolutely necessary and as a result my Jacky's have not been "conditioned" to handling and so instinct kicks in and they retreat to avoid it. This is despite being captive bred for over a dozen or more generations.