Injured wild-caught Pale-head- plz help.

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Colletts

Reaction score
I mentioned in the elapid thread that we accidently ran over a Pale-head last night. Here are some pics of him. I'm only new to caring for injured wild elapids so a bit of help would be appreciated.

After getting him out and having a better look at him, it looks as if his mouth on his left side has split. I tried to get photo's of it but it started bleeding so i couldn't see anything. And it appears that he has some damage inside his mouth but i'm not sure what exactly and to what extent. All i know is when i try to have a look it bleeds.

So, should i just give him a few days rest so that the wound can heal and i can see what's going on or should i get it looked at now? All i've done so far is wash his mouth with water. He's on heat, has water and a hide and has a pretty good temperament for a wild snake, hasn't struck yet but does open his mouth and try to bite when pinned. He's alert and responds to movement. Just thought i'd say in advance, i cannot get him to a herp vet. The closest one would be about a days drive and the vets in my area have had very little experience with reptiles, let alone vens.

Thanks.

The first pic was taken last night after we got him home. And the other two tonight. I didn't notice any swelling last night, it's only just come up today.

Attachments

• P1140383.jpg
    P1140383.jpg
    83.4 KB · Views: 372
  • P1150394.jpg
    P1150394.jpg
    47.7 KB · Views: 319
  • P1150395.jpg
    P1150395.jpg
    48.1 KB · Views: 305