Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

austnik

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. Just thought I would post an introduction here to say hello as I haven't done it as yet. My name is Nicole (Nic), residing in Vic and I have recently acquired a Childrens that I absolutely love. I am really new to herps and have a question that I thought someone could answer. It maybe nothing but I just thought I would check. My hatchie seems to be constantly pacing the enclosure at night. He (or she) always seems to want to get out of the enclosure. I keep it in a small plastic fish tank tub 35cmL x 25cmW x 30cmH and that is inside a large enclosure 1mL x 80cmW x 90cmH and the temp is around 28.5C in the day and a bit lower at night. He is really happy to go onto my hand etc. when i open the small tank (i dont pick him up i just put my hand on the edge of the tank) and will move around on my had for ages without wanting to get off. Seems quite happy. Any suggestions? Thanks.

Welcome and enjoy the party....

Do you have a temp gradient in there so a hot end and a cool end, how often do you feed the little tacka?

Welcome!!
That just sounds like a happy pythons behaviour.
Is the bigger enclosure for when it grows up?

Thanks for the welcomes :D
There is a hot end and a cool end - the hot is around 29.5 and the cooler end is 27. I have only feed him once since i got him which was 3 weeks ago. The breeder feed him while i was there and then i fed him a few days ago.
Jordo: yes the bigger is for when he grows. And i have called him Jordon!

The little tacker (Jordon) might just be doing a little hunting either that or he is just active.

What a great name, must be an awesome snake!!!
OK I'll stop now lol