It's my first time.

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

zoe87

Not so new Member
Reaction score
So I went and checked on Hisskers (13 month old MD) this evening and it turns out he is going into shed (milky eyes). This is my first time, I only got him 3weeks ago. I feel like the 100+ hours of research I've done never existed. I'm more anxious about this than his first night at home. Are there any final tips or words of wisdom. I saw those milky eyes and my brain has been wiped. I'm leaving him well alone only changing the water and doing a very quick check for little snakey messes.

Leave him alone, and some time over the next few days/a week he'll shed and be quite fine. No need to stress until something DOES go wrong with the shed. Other than that just let him and nature do their thing.

just relax ayeee...dont expect the shedding process to be over too soon, thats the worry I had when my 2y/o coastal first went into shed. from what i read i was expecting it to be over in a few days...it was more like 7-10 days after the milky eye stage.
im guessing in your case you will find the shed skin on saturday morning...i know there are SOOOO many factors that play a part but thats my bet!!!

Only thing I would suggest is to lightly mist the walls of the enclosure to create a bit more humidity over the next week or so. Has Helped my Snakes shed a little easier.

I got excited about my snakes first few shed and then before you know you have more dried out sheds than you know what to do with

Thank you all so much for you prompt and helpful replies. You have all really put my mind at ease.