Juvy Texty? - Darwin

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mikey_mike

Reaction score
bikepath_9.jpgbikepath_3.jpgbikepath_6.jpg

Found this fella on the bikepath on the way home this afternoon - just outside of the CBD. I guess the snakes have started to move again even though it still seems bloody cold to me. Perhaps 20cm long.
Anyway 2 questions: 1) Is it a textilis?
2) Anyone got any tips on how I can id snakes without ending up in ED for 12 hours of snake bite obs? Having worked there for years I would find this very embarrassing. Clearly from these 2 q's I'm a bit of a novice at snake ids.

Thanks & sorry about the iphone photos.

Last edited:
Delma sp. Practice practice practice is the way to id. Read books and look/take photos of as many critters as possible.

Thanks so much, now I'm a bit embarrassed that I didn't get closer. If I zoom in on the original photos I think I can just make out ears.
Cheers

hi [MENTION=31061]mikey_mike[/MENTION] i would be looking at getting a book such as Reptiles and Amphibians of Australia by Harold Cogger
the head shape of this guy is a dead give away as well

It is Delma tincta the Excitable Delma, to be precise.