Live or Dead Feed? What do you do?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jack92

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hey Guys, just been thinking lately about live vs dead food. I currently feed my Jungle/Diamond Python on Dead only as I'm new to Snakes. I've heard if you feed them live, there are chances of the Snake being injured? Also I've read if you feed them live, they can become more aggressive and bitey towards you? Or is that false as well?
Tell me how you guys do it, and tips etc are appreciated :)

Thanks

Live feeding is severely frowned upon, unethical and inhumane.
It is highly likely that if a snake does not eat the prey the prey can attack, harm and potentially even kill the snake when they are both confined within a captive environment.
I know of no-one who uses live prey items for snakes and I would suggest that you can the idea for the sake of your animals, the prey items and the potential impact should the authorities become aware of such activity.

There are chances of any animal being injured attacking another, don't do it. Dangerous and unethical. There are no benefits to feeding live unless you are a sadist. Not to mention it's illegal.

It is not illegal. It is however as mentioned unethical and inhumane and should not be done unless completely necessary.

Guys,
Its not illegal, it is severely frowned upon and would be very difficult to prove the necessity of such an act if the authorities were ever alerted to such behaviour.

Well I'm glad I've been feeding it Dead Fuzzies then :) I'll stick with Dead, he seems to be doing fine with them, I was just curious thats all :) Better safe than sorry