Opinions of Jungle Carpets?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

emann14

Reaction score
Hi, I am a beginner reptile owner, owning a spotted and a bluey, and I have done a bit of reading about Jungle Carpets as I think they are pretty beautiful and would make a good second python (not too large). Just wondering some of your opinions on jungles, because a lot of the info and care sheets I have read suggest them more for "decorative" purposes because of their temperament and their nature to be bitey and avoid being handled. Just wondering whether this is something to take into account with jungles. I would rather a python that I could handle, not for hours, but for a quarter hour or so per day. What are your thoughts...

I can't speak for all jungles but my 5ft+ is completely fine and relaxed during a holding session.
not aggressive getting him out of his enclosure, I put my fist up to his face and let him smell me then I get him out with my hands, he can get really nasty when he knows it's feeding time tho.

We've had our Jungles since April last year. They were hatchlings born in DEC 2012 when we got them, and were right little chainsaws. Link is a little bigger than Caine now, and he's pretty laid back and doesn't really mind being handled. He will be a bit flighty when removed from his enclosure, especially if there are more than a few people around, but otherwise he comes good within minutes.