Outdoor Enclosure

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Sally Smith

Reaction score
Hi,
I am new here but not new as an owner. I have owned a Coastal Carpet (Prescilla) for almost 10 years. I have her in a large timber and glass cabinet inside but was recently given a large bird cage made from tin and and steel mesh. I thought I might make it into an outdoor habitat for her but we get frosts here in Mudgee Nsw, sometimes very heavy, so was wondering if my snake can tolerate frosts. If not I could just have it as an enclosure to use during the day? So would also like to know if moving her from one to another from time to time is advisable?
Thanks.

Hey Sally! I am no expert on coastals but am pretty sure it wouldnt be adviseable to let them experience heavy frost unless you had some seriously heated insulated hide but again i personally wouldnt think it a good idea that for sure! Would be fine to let your coastal roam around in during day providing the temps arent to extreme hot or cold and there are shaded spots etc .

Hi Sally,