Plz Help!

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

c_jei

Reaction score
Hi y'all! This is my first posting (feel proud) and I would just like to say that this site is fantastic. I have been looking for something like this for AGES. I am relatively new to the world of herping having just bought my beautiful little guy (coastal) about four months ago. I've only got time for a few quick questions 'cos I am starving and the smell of steak is just driving me wild so...

I was wondering whether I should hibernate my coastal at all. He is 2 1/2 years old, healthy, feeding extremely well (truth be told, he's a pig). He's shed twice since I've had him. Also, if i do hibernate what do I do about handling? Do I stop it? Or just reduce it for the colder months or what?

Second Q...cage size. I've read a couple other postings like this and I'm still not too sure on it. He's in a small one at the mo just under 3' long. When should I get a bigger one? How big should it be? I'm thinking of building one around July (once the tax cheque clears :D ) And want to know exactly what I'm doing before I start. I want this one to be the last enclosure I get for him. Whatz the max/min size?

Third Q...(I'm getting into this, but I'll make it the last promise) Lighting/heating. I want to install a fluro fitting. The special reptile bulb thingies...is that heating as well? If I get one do I still have to have a seperate heat source on during the day? Basically I would like to know everything there is to know about reptile enclosures...size,materials, accessories...

Thank-you for lasting all the way thru. I really appreciate it. L8er! :D

I'd suggest you dont feed or handle for 2-3 months while cooling down to about 20 degrees during the day and 16-18 degrees night.