Problems with Bearded Dragons!!!

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

whatmeworry

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I've been keeping Diamond pythons for almost 3 years now, and was hoping to expand my collection with some bearded dragons. I am just wondering, what are the negative aspects to keeping them. Like, what are the hardest things about them?

Thanks in advance!!

definetly their food costs. For babies it can be quite a jump, for adults its not so hard. This can be solved by breeding food.
saying this there are hundreds of benefits they are definetly an awesome species to keep!!!

nothing is hard about them, and theyre a really awesome critters. :p

negatives, (in comparison to snakes)
they need feeding daily, you can skip the odd day but be prepared for filthy looks.
which means they poo alot more too,..and their poo can smell reaaaaaalllly bad,...
they NEED a UVB source, tubes are expensive, but the sun is free.
they also need more heat than snakes, which means your electricity bill will probably rise a bit,..
watering is a manual thing since most wont drink from bowls

housing them together doesnt always work, eg, i have 5 cages for 7 dragons, the rest cant live together. (1 trio of old ladies who seem past the age of fighting, the rest live alone)

im having a really hard time trying to think of negatives!!

Thanks to both of you, yea i thought the feeding would be a concern!

if you buy bulk woodies and start breeding it wont cost you anymore than $60-100 for the rest of your lizard days

Unless you breed crix your self which I'm about to start. But there great companions

i have both.

Snakes are cheaper if you do the normal petshop runs for food.
I was breeding crickets while they were 6 weeks to 8 months old or so that must have saved me hundreds.