Python shedding

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jedi Madden

Reaction score
Hi guys I'm new to owning a python and my six month old bredli is going through a shed just wondering what the humidity should be in her inclosure and is it normal for her to just lay in her water bowl for hours thanks

Hi Jedi
Yes , that sounds normal. I also have a youngish bredli who occasionally likes to soak in his water bowl preshed. As for humidity , my enclosures sit at around 30 to 35% most of the time, but I usually lightly mist my enclosures once a day, only when they are in preshed. I have noticed that around 12 to 24 hours before their ready to actually shed, they usually have a big drink, so as long as they have access to plenty of fresh water and have some rough surfaces to rub against, you shouldn't have a problem. Good Luck.
[doublepost=1600680034,1600605693][/doublepost]Sorry , i probably should have mentioned that if she is spending a lot of time soaking when not in preshed, it would definatly be worth checking for mites.

What are your temps like , is there a chance she could be to hot ? If temps are ok , and she isn't infested with mites , i wouldn't worry , the whole shedding process usualy takes around 10 days or so , just be patient.

One thing you could do now is change the water in the bowl. But don't throw the "old" water away. Put it into a white or pale-coloured bucket or basin and look for black/dark specks about the size of a pinhead. If there are none then there's a good chance you can discount mites as an issue and just let the snake soak for a bit longer.
But if you notice numerous dark specks you may have an infestation, which will require attention.