Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jinin

Very Well-Known Member
Reaction score
please feel free to point out any faults or anything as im new to pit building 8]..

Im finally starting on my new Sand Monitor pit, my sandy is about 8mnths now and is out growing his tank, the pit i have started on is roughly 3mx2m but its in a corner, it is about 3-4 times the size of his 5x2x2 Tank hes in now. This pit will be temporary, he will then move into a bigger pit with hopefully 1 or 2 others, this pit will be 5mx4m, then this pit im building now will house 4 Beardies 8]. Anyway i started off by cutting the pine to size to fit snug agains the rock and the brick wall, the pine at its longest edges measures up to be 2.4m. i then neatly(not really) paved the area with some old left over pavers we have lying around, all up i used about 60 at a guess. I then cut the drainage pipe that was allready there and placed a drainage box towards the back, the pipe also runs through the middle (under the pavers) which will soak up any water that the box doesnt get.
As a sand monitor loves to dig, they are quite good at escaping as far as iv'e heard so i have to make it 100% escape proof! i did this by Purchasing 1 bag of Quick Set Mortar, mixed it with some Sydney Sydney sand and water, i know motar isnt as strong as cement but it dries pretty hard and i doubt a sandy could dig through that.