Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

deebo

Very Well-Known Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I was a bit hesitant to post a thread like this for fear as coming across as an idiot who didn’t know what he was doing, but I thought it might be important to share some information like this, especially with some of the new aspiring herp keepers.

We often hear about people’s success but very rarely hear about the downsides of keeping and breeding reptiles. While I cannot claim to be an expert or an incredibly experienced keeper I have been keeping snakes for about six years now and have bred them for the past three years and in that time, especially with breeding, have had both successes and failures.

Some of you may have read/seen about the success I have recently had with a clutch of RSP that hatched this year; but even within that clutch there has been some disappointment. I had 12 fertile eggs and one slug laid, one egg went mouldy about 6 weeks into incubation and later died, and the other 11 hatched and all seemed fine. I was checking on the hatchies earlier this week and found one with its body all tensed up and lying with its mouth gaping open. I thought it was dead but when I picked it up it started to writhe around and then about 20 seconds later it literally died in my hands. Upon closer inspection I found its body was a bit swollen around where I think its heart would be and also seemed a bit darkened and black when looking from the underside. I am not sure exactly what happened to it but assume it was some sort of defect that took a while to show any problems.

In previous years I have had near 100% hatch rates with jungles, BHPs and womas. This season I would be lucky to be pushing 40% success.