Snake or lizard skin?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ACarvan

Reaction score
Hello. I'm an absolute amateur, so please forgive my lack of smarts. I found a skin in my garden shed this morning and would love to know what creature owned it previously.

I'm starting at a very low baseline and don't even know if it's from a large lizard or whether it's a partial shed from a snake.

I tried to count the scales (as per the AROD page) but the skin is in quite bad condition and I couldn't keep track of the number. I'm not sure if it helps but the skin is definitely inside out.

Is anyone able to fathom a guess as to whether it is a snake or a lizard?

I live in suburban Canberra and have previously not seen snakes or lizards in my garden.

Thanks in advance. Photos are below.

IMG_3992.JPG

IMG_3994.JPG
IMG_3995.JPG
IMG_3996.JPG

It is definitely a snake skin. Most likely to be a Diamond Python, it is also possible that it could be a Coastal Carpet Python that has escaped or been released by an irresponsible keeper.

I don't think any morelia species are native to the ACT? Maybe an escaped pet?
Coastals are way further north, Murray darlings are further west, and diamonds are further east.

Oh how interesting. Thank you. I might comb the local papers to see if someone is missing one.

"Reptiles are not as easy to care for as a dog or cat and can easily become ill when fed incorrectly or not kept warm"
Huh?

Gee, I must be a weirdo then. I've always found reptiles to be way easier to care for compared to a cat and dog.

"Reptiles are not as easy to care for as a dog or cat and can easily become ill when fed incorrectly or not kept warm"
Huh?