So, I have a lost reptile in my possession...

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Naedezhda

Reaction score
Hi everyone :D

First off, I am in Western Australia~

Well today, I found a western bluetongue in my yard. Now, I am quite experienced when it comes to bluetongues (Having been involved with wild ones since I was young and having cared for them whilst working at a wildlife center, plus I have been researching before getting my own for the past two years), and just from looking at its condition and behavior, plus the fact that westerns are never seen here, I am convinced he is in fact an escaped pet.

Now, Ive been keeping an eye out for any lost notices, and will be contacting our local CALM office on monday, as I presume them able to look through their licensing records to see if anyone in the area owns a western.

But, I have a few issues, mainly in regards to legality, nagging at the edge of my mind -

1. What if it turns out that there is no one with a western in the area? As if there isnt, I would think that he would have been kept illegally - What would happen to him? Is there any way I could be able to keep him if I were to obtain a license? If he is a pet, legal or not, I just dont think it would be right to just let him go, especially since they dont live here. And I dont want anything to happen to him in the event he is just a wild one in immaculate condition and far from home.

2. Could I be fined for keeping him? Would they understand my concerns about him possibly being a pet?

Im sure there were a few more, but I cant quite remember...

And info or advice is greatly appreciated :D

You could build im a pit and tell them he jumped in on his own if they ask :D

Hi everyone :D

First off, I am in Western Australia~