SOFAR Expo

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Umbral

Very Well-Known Member
Reaction score
I just saw that due to a lack of volunteers there won't be a SOFAR expo in Newcastle this year. It's a bit of a shame as it was always a great day, there's a comments section under the SOFAR 2015 expo page. If we managed to get enough volunteers I wonder if they would keep it going (Might be a little late.) unfortunately I work in the wine industry and at this time of year I can't commit to helping, bit of a lame excuse I know bit when fruits coming in I need to be there and sometimes we don't know until the day before.

Surely there are enough people interested in herps in the area that we could scrounge up a few volunteers for the day?

From what I've heard and read from members that's not at all true.
They had volunteers but the committee just didn't want to do it, they put a new committee in and they ended up standing down because of constant interference of the old committee.

From what I've heard and read from members that's not at all true.
They had volunteers but the committee just didn't want to do it, they put a new committee in and they ended up standing down because of constant interference of the old committee.
Not sure if it's true but I had heard the same a few days ago. I did notice the Displays and stands at the Expo were reducing over the last couple of years, maybe a dose of fresh blood might have managed to turn it around.

Every reptile club needs a dose of new blood. Upcoming young people with new ideas etc...after xx amount of years, committees burn out.