Stephens banded Snake

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rskb4

Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm a newbie and dont own reptiles, but have a property where they happily live.

My 1st question for the forum is.

I caught a Stephens Banded Snake in the aviary yesterday , it is fully mature but very placid. Does anyone have experience with this breed of snake ?

dont handle the snake as it is quite venomous. it has quite a good bite on it. can knoxck you around. best advice. just release it back into the wild. you cant keep any wildlife you have caught.

No plans to keep it, i will re-release it tonight on our property. I took it to the reptile park today just so they could identify it. Apparently it is also on the endangered list. It is very deceiving, it looks so placid and is very easy to handle (with care of course). Now that i know what it is i will be more cautious. Which is something that should be done regardless........ i know :)

nice one. before you release it make sure you get pictures and post them up here!!!!!
it would be againsed everything we stand for, not to get photos. hehe.

wow lucky you to have them on your property, that would be a dream come true. are you down gosford way? if so even luckier, as your on the southern end of there distribution, as Troy said, post a few pictures!

nice one. before you release it make sure you get pictures and post them up here!!!!!
it would be againsed everything we stand for, not to get photos. hehe.
Yeah! Dopey me was out herping one day and found a stephen's banded, I was so excited that forgot about the camera around my neck!!
Pictures would be nice!