Tapole and Frog ID

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

teapotzombie

Reaction score
Hi!
Im new to this, Just wanting some sort of idea what kind of tadpoles i have found, one has just morphed into a frog! :) They are from the northside of brisbane!
IMG_2812.jpgIMG_2813.jpgIMG_2811.jpgIMG_2800.jpgIMG_2802.jpgIMG_2806.jpgIMG_2794.jpg

It is extremely difficult to IDentify tadpoles even in real life, from photos near impossible. The frog looks like either L.peronii or L.tylerii though so I assume most tadpoles are probably the same?

It is extremely difficult to IDentify tadpoles even in real life, from photos near impossible. The frog looks like either L.peronii or L.tylerii though so I assume most tadpoles are probably the same?
IMG_2814.jpgIMG_2815.jpgIMG_2818.jpg
Here are some more... can i please get "laymans terms" for the frog names?

I don't think that it would be L. peronii or L. tylerii at all. Firstly neither are very common in suburban brisbane, particularly not tylerii, you do occasionally find peronii if it is near some bushland. (i have studied the occurrence of frogs around parks in southern brisbane). It is actually possible to ID tadpoles if you know what to look for, teeth rows and differences in the tail and belly are generally used very effectively but you do need to know what you are doing and what to look for.

Litoria peronii is Emerald spotted tree frog, Litoria tylerii is the southern laughing frog

I actually think that is way more likely to be Litoria gracilenta (dainty green tree frog or graceful treefrog). They are more common in brisbane. But honestly it is really hard to tell from a photo. If you had a recording of their call it would be easier (to at least narrow it down).