Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

g33kb0y

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm Matt, I'm new to snakes, but definately hooked!

I'd like to use this forum, but I need to get thease annoying questions out of the way first... and I have tried the search thingy, but there's so much stuff!

1/ How do I go about getting a Class 1 License in Victoria ? I tried the gov websites, but bugger me if I can find anythign useful!

2/ What's the smallest of the pythons (captive breed) that are regularly traded ? I see there's a Dwarf childrens, but can't really find anyone selling them.

3/ I'd really prefer a Coluprid, probably a brown tree snake... but I'm not real sure how good they are for newbies, how big they get (I know the GTS is about 1.5 - 2m)... I've searched, and there are some ace pics, just not a lot of info to help me decide.

I am going to take my time about choosing, and getting the setup sorted... but this info would greatly help me focus my info gathering.

thanks,

Matt

Calling them is the easiest way.

Children's Pythons are the smallest regularly traded species. We're not allowed to keep 'Dwarf Children's" in Victoria and they'd cost too much even if we could ;)

Brown tree snakes aren't the best choice for beginners. They can be prone to sloughing problems and are quite fussy about himidity. It's not uncommon for them to be a bit snappy (although many are very placid) and most would suggest against it because they're venomous, even if mildly. A large Brown Tree Snake is about 6', they occassionally get bigger.

Good luck :)

Oops,

that number should read "94124992"

sorry for the typo :oops:

Spotted, Stimsons or childrens is the way to go IMO

thanks for that, will chase up that license :)

Are any of the Tree Snakes ok, or is a python the best best ?