Urgent - seriously injured blue tongue lizard!

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Gayspie

Reaction score
hello all,
I am new to the reptile forum.

today our 2 large dogs that we were looking after attacked a native blue tongued lizard when we were not looking. I spotted the lizard with 5 dog tooth puncture marks and dog fur in its scales. additionally the lower bodily organs have been forced into a clump behind the diaphragm that leaves a noticeable large bump in the lizards spine. furthermore the intestines can be seen emerging from the underside of the body along about a 4cm skin puncture.

AMAZINGLY the lizard can still move all its legs and head although barely and can barely breathe, even after 5 hours from the dog attack.

the lizard was immediately moved to a foam box lined with newspaper and placed in the shed away from the naughty dogs, who were then told off. the lizard was then offered water and its puncture marks were bathed with a warm salt and water solution. we then went and purchased bandages to bandage up the hole where the intestines are falling out of the abdomen, we are now carefully bandaging up the hole in the skin after the lizard rested for 4 hours at 26 degress room temperature.

we are unsure of our next actions to ensure the lizard has a good chance of survival and recovery and would like some advice from experienced reptile keepers.

thanks for reading my long first post,

cheers, Heath Loxton. :)

Take it to your local vet or wildlife sanctuary ASAP, I would've done that straight up. Good on you for looking after it but it needs immediate vet attention. Where are you located?

Take it to your local vet or wildlife sanctuary ASAP, I would've done that straight up. Good on you for looking after it but it needs immediate vet attention. Where are you located?