Who has not taken a bite

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Madmick149

Not so new Member
Reaction score
I'm still new to owning snakes and yet to take a bite.
I do handle both my snakes most days other then shedding or for a day or 2 after feeding.
i figure it's only a matter of time before I take a bite any of you more experienced guys not taken a bite and how long have you been keeping snakes

Sapphire gave me my first bite. She was so fast I actually giggled.
She's still settling into her new home so she's still a little feisty. I'm certain there are more bites to come :)

You defiantly aren't considered experienced if you haven't taken a bite lol, its not an if but a when.

You will be bitten soon enough :)

i'd been bitten a few times before i even owned a snake, when it does happen, try not to flinch too much hahah

I second that. It'll happen, it's inevitable. Maybe not tomorrow, maybe not in a month, but inevitably, you will be bitten. Remember, biting, is about the only way a snake can let you know it's unhappy with the situation. That, and they're not the brightest creatures on earth, so they can mistake your hand for food. Just remember not to flinch, and let the thing unhitch itself. I found I actually got less trusting of my snakes the longer I had them. Probably because they got big enough to hit my face while holding them. Weird little things can completely change a snake's personality too. My current jungle carpet python was a total puppy when he was younger and living in a click-clack. As he got older, I put him into a big, vertical terrarium with lots of branches etc. Turns out, he likes it too much. Now he's cage defensive, whereas before, he'd be excited to come out and have a slither. Probably got comfortable and grumpy with age. It happens.