Yearling - Hypo Coastal Carpet (help!)

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Leesh_91

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi, Im a newbie to owning reptiles and i need some adivce. I have recently got a coastal carpet and he was sold to me as a yearling. He is very quite and a really great snake to start off with.. not bitey at all. But as I spoke with a snake breeder over the weekend he said that my coastal looks fairly small for a yearling and that he may have been refusing food. I have fed him pinkie rats and he seems to take it fine. I was wondering what i can do to get him back up to weight?

Is he actually eating what you give him? He's not regurgitating at all?

Also what are the Temps of your enclosure at? If not an enclosure with whatever you're using make sure you have a heatpad on around 1/3 of the area.

No he is eating it fine, and not regurgitating at all. Ive only had him a couple of weeks and i was told by the previous owner to feed him two pinkie rats once a week.

I brought a enclosure but was too big and as he is only small i didnt want him to escape. Ive got him i a good size container for now and i got a heat mat under 1/3 of it.. its about 33c on the basking spot and 26-27c on the cooling side. The breeder i spoke with said to watch the temps and get them right because who i got the coastal off told me wrong informationg that "i wont need to bother we heating for this time of year and where im living central qld".

"i wont need to bother we heating for this time of year and where im living central qld".... With the weather we've been having? What ridiculous advice.

Also could you provide us with his current length?

Depending on his current size i'm assuming 2 Pinkie Rats/Week is easily sufficient for him to grow significantly if not to much.