6 month old antaresia not feeding

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Carl12

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hey guys and girls, I have a 6 month old childrens who’s been awesome but the last 2 weeks she’s been acting strange and I was wondering is someone could shed some light on why…. I’m new to snakes so don’t have much experience hence the post. She’s been an awesome feeder that took food every time I offered but the last 2 weeks she’s wanted nothing to do with the fuzzy mice I normally feed. It’s almost like she doesn’t see them. She’s also been hiding a lot more the usual. It is still pretty cold here in Sydney and her temps are hovering between 27 - 31 on the hot side. I know that’s abit cold but with the current heat Mat it won’t go higher. She also shed about 2 weeks ago so I’m assuming that might have something to do with it. I’m just wondering if anyone has tips to get them feeding or if I’m just being paranoid. Any help and or tips are much appreciated. Trying my best to give her the best care I can!!

With the colder weather, could it just be brumation? A lot of snakes go off food and start becoming inactive when temps drop as they go into a hibernation-like state, it could explain her lack of interest. You can always keep trying to feed to be sure, just do what you normally do, its seemed to be working, making sure the food is warm enough, not spoiled and jiggling it around so its enticing is pretty much all you can do. I wouldn't be too stressed, with my little experience I've learnt that snakes can go without food for longer than you'd think and sometimes they just inexplicably refuse to eat for a while.