Australian Arid Native Vivarium

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rachael3633

Reaction score
Hi There,
I am very new to reptile keeping - so new I don't even own one now! We are planning to get a bearded dragon to come and live with us in a big tank we have inherited. I'm super new to that and am readin loads to be a good Lizard parent!

I am an experienced plant grower however, and have a passion for growing native aussie plants - I live 5 hours inland in Oz so although we're not central I do have good experience of what arid looks like!

I therefore want to create a native arid vivarium - I've been reading everything I can online but there isn't loads of info, so I'd love any advice people have about my plans, and I'd love to post and document how it goes :)

Here are my plans and my questions:

Tank Large Exo Terra 90x45x45 - front opening doors and ventilation built in

Set up equipment:
Mesh roof
Heat halogen lamp
UVB lamp
Led strip grow light (will this be OK for Lizard? - it's mainly for plants...)
2 strip thermometers
Humidity measurer

Furniture:
Possibly a back wall that has climbing areas
A cave to hide in
Logs, rocks, paperbark, banksia seeds, etc. have all these in my garden - planning boil or light bleach to clean
Do I need to be very careful with this cleaning or is it not a huge deal?

I'm planning this set-up as soil:
Charcoal on bottom (I do this on plant based indoor things as a cleaner - any reason I can't do this with a Lizard?); Substrate of 2 parts play sand; 1 part indoor topsoil (indoor is treated for bugs); 1 part coco fibre, 5 inches deep
Layer of Australian desert sand for top
I have no idea what Lizards will do to soil will they dig loads?! It's not really a big problem if they do I guess

I'm planning to add these insects to the substrate as little cleaner uppers:
Powdery orange isopods