Best hide rock size. needing advice please

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Ripsnortstafford

Not so new Member
Reaction score
We have a giant URS hide rock for our Diamond. I hear you saying, that's a mighty large rock...and yes, if I'd seen it in the flesh first I would have said man, that's way too big. But as I bought it online from URS, I just kind of figured out the dimensions and thought that'll do. After all, he is a 7 ft snake. LOL.
Yes, I'm a newbie and that first paragraph simply screams that out loud. How was I to know that a 7 ft snake curls up into a relatively small coil....poor man is lost inside his hide rock. We could fit three of him in there.
So, with that in mind and I have a credit at URS burning a hole in my pocket, can I get some advice on which would be the more ideal size for our snake. I'm leaning towards the medium going on the dimensions and actually seeing the product at a pet store....but I 'hae me doots' as the Scots would say.
Some advice would be excellent.

Oh and if you know anyone in the market for a secondhand, but relatively new, giant URS hide rock located in Deniliquin NSW at a decent price....scream out.

cheers
Elise.

If you can, go into a shop that sells them. Just about every store Aus wide that sells hides sells the URS range.
My rule is; about what you think your snake will fit into then just a bit smaller - they love tight spaces.

They do like to feel snug within a hide eg the outer coils touching the sides of the hide chosen. Why not just make one or prior to buying another get a bunch of card board boxes from bunnings or Coles etc trial which ones suit him the best, or just keep using the boxes, once they get soiled throw them out put a new one in!