Couple of questions re. beardies

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Kitah

Very Well-Known Member
Reaction score
Heya guys, as some of you know, im currently studying vet science at JCU in townsville, and i currently live on campus at one of the colleges; thus, no pets allowed. however, i have never in my life been without animals, and, now that i havnt had mine with me for the past year and a half while studying, i know they are my stress reliever. To cut a long story short.. the college principal KNOWS that i need to have animals around me.. and she offered to let me keep a fish at the college.. which, wont really help. however, i think that i MAY be able to get her to let me keep either a rat or a lizard of some sort. (i would love to get the blonde maccie ive been dreaming of, but she is absolutely terrified of snakes...)

I was thinking, if i am allowed a lizard... what species would be best? I was thinking pygmy beardie, purely for size issues. i have done some research, however i would love to get some of your opinions/methods/facts in regard to the following points

For a single dragon;
- I have heard that beardies can be tolerant to handling; is this true (from your experiences) and are pygmys reasonably tolerant to handling, or is it just the larger species? (have read some who say pygmys arnt as good for handling, others say they are fine)

- what is adequate housing for both pygmy and larger beardie species? (size.. may be an issue in a college situation)

- any other important/relevant facts you think i could have missed in my research

And also.. these are a few facts for requirements for pygmys ive gathered.. can you let me know if any of these are incorrect/inaccurate?

- good UV bulb/tube

- naturally from a low humidity environment (would they cope in Townsville ok?)