Exotics in Zoos

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

TriggerFish

Not so new Member
Reaction score
So I'm pretty new to the plethora of rules involved with keeping reptiles in general. What I do understand is that exotic species are a no no.

I've always loved the concept of keeping a chameleon. I know now that it will never happen unless I move overseas. That isn't going to happen, so I am resigned to wishful thinking.

I went to the zoo where I live in Canberra today (I live in Canberra, not the zoo....couldn't quite figure that sentence out so it sounded right...). They have a few reptiles, many of them certainly not natives. They had a Veiled Chameleon (Chamaeleo calyptratus) on display. Great to see one in the flesh (see pics below). It was shedding, so I think it's colours were a little dulled. The flash on my camera probably gives the wrong impression of the colours it was displaying, but, does sort of demonstrate what I mean about the shedding probably affecting it's colouration.

Getting to the point. I was under the impression that even zoos had pretty much buckleys of getting permission to keep chameleons. Is that not the case?

Oh, I added a nice pic of an iguana that I saw while we were there too. Cheerful looking dude aint he :D

DSC01161.JPG

DSC01154.JPG

DSC01140.JPG

No Zoo's are different they can keep pretty much anything

No Zoo's are different they can keep pretty much anything

New Legislation is QLD states they aren't allowed any new species, only what they keep at the location.
So if they didn't have one already... they're not going to.

New Legislation is QLD states they aren't allowed any new species, only what they keep at the location.