Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

GlennB

Reaction score
Hello I'm after my first python what would be best for me

I'm new to this

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:
Most 'first time' python owners (in Australia) usually go for the 'Antaresia' genus- This includes the Spotted Python, Childrens Python, Stimsons Python, and Anthill Python/Pygmy Python. This is because the snakes are much easier to care for.

My first snake was a Jungle Carpet Python, i did a few months of research first ( i was soooo excited!!) and she is quite easy to look after ; so it is really up to you what snake you would like... But i highly wouldn't recommend getting a snake like a Green Tree Python as your first!!!

yeh its just what snake you want really but defiantly wouldn't recommend a GTP or depending on you size a scrub python or anything like that.

Most snakes are good firsts , pick one you like the look of and can afford to house / feed and do some research on that particular one .

Most 'first time' python owners (in Australia) usually go for the 'Antaresia' genus- This includes the Spotted Python, Childrens Python, Stimsons Python, and Anthill Python/Pygmy Python. This is because the snakes are much easier to care for.
!

Caring for a spotted python is no different to caring for a woma or MD or bredli .... they all require an enclosure , heat , water and food.

first decide on what kind of size u could handle, then look for breeds that fit those sizes,....

personally, i dont like small snakes, but heaps of people choose them as their first.

I like the bredlis

I've been researching a lot and I like the Bredlis and blonde spotted pythons do u guys know of any reputable breeders around the gold coast area?

Last edited: