Gecko day/light cycles

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

OhThatEll

Reaction score
Hi all.

I've been seriously considering getting a gecko the past couple of months. My house is quite small so he/she would have to be in my room. I've got the space and everything, so that much is fine, but I'm worried about messing up it's day and night cycles. I'm a uni student and do my work and study in my bedroom and I need light to, you know, see. This includes cramming at 2 a.m. The solution I've come up with in my head is getting a friend to sew some black material together that can just slide over the vivarium to darken it, and use my desk lamp instead of the overhead light to do my work.

Would this create enough darkness for a gecko to be like "Oh it's nighttime! Time to do my thing!"? Or would it be too light still and mess with him/her?

Any of your own solutions would be great too.

my geckos are in my room and I have my tv going I.honestly don't think it would mess with them eventually u turn the light off so they would get there dark times

Hi,

For our thick-tailed gecko who lives in the kitchen we try to turn off the main light when it gets dark, but she doesn't seem to mind the low lighting from the oven hood so your desk light will probably be fine. When we do need to keep the lights on longer, we just put a towel over her enclosure because she doesn't come out if it's too bright. So I think a dark cloth will be fine. I don't think it matters too much to them as long as they get some dark, as randomgeckos says, but I do understand wanting to keep a natural-ish cycle.