Herps at Work.

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Blues Dog

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hey guys.

Well for my first post I'd just like to show you some of the critters I've had the pleasure of running into on site. I'm an Environmental Officer working on a construction project in Mackay North Queensland.

1st up are the couple of Carpet Pythons I've had to rescue.
injuredcarpetpython2.jpg

This poor fellow (about 1.8m) was clipped by a slasher mowing the grounds around one of the site offices. Thankfully it was a flesh wound, no bones broken. Half a dozen stiches and 6 weeks being looked after by a local carer and it was right to go.

DSCF1864.jpg

Ok, this not so happy camper (2m ) nearly found himself under the tracks of an excavator. That and the NZ blokes who were working on a fence nearby were worried about getting tagged (I've seen some of these NZ guys turn white at the sight of a blue tounge ),. Believe me I was more worried about the snake being hurt then them. (bin was the only thing handy at the time)

DSCF1039.jpg

This is a Small Eyed Snake I came across doing a fauna search in a swampy area we were going to be working in. about 50cm. Unfortunately I didn't get any shots of the colouration on its underside which was very nice.

GreenTreeSnakeBensHouse2808.07.jpg

Got a call from the Boss's Missus trying to get hold of him. Apparantly she had a brown snake in the house and had barricaded herself in the study and was sounding rather panicky. As you can see from the photo turned out to be just a little (1.5m) ol Green Tree Snake (gloves went on before I'd worked out what I was dealing with. Let it go in some bush down the road.

LaceMonitorMSWRF2109.07.jpg