How much do I feed my juvenile Rusty Monitor (varanus Semiremex)?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dcevo

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm new to monitor keeping. I got my first baby yesterday! He is a Rusty Monitor native to far north Queensland. I'm curious as to how much and how often I should feed the little guy while he's growing. I want him to grow up big and strong haha. I've set up a heat lamp and Uvb, I need to get a temperature guage tomorrow, but have been told his basking spot should be 65-70 degrees, I can feel it's pretty hot, but I'll Make sure it's perfect asap. Ive read this plays a part in their feeding habits and digestion so I've also got a timer for the lights and have ordered a heat mat for the night times. But back to my question, how much and how often do I feed him? I've got supplements, calcium and vitamin to dust his woodies and crickets!

I don't have any experience with V. semiremex specifically, but it appears that no one has come by with a definitive answer.

The general rule with young monitors is that they need to eat like crazy and should be fed generously.