Identifying this frog.

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Rochelle.Jade

Reaction score
Hey,
I work in childcare in Jesmond, NSW.
This morning i found a little frog in the garden.
It's a white colour with redish pink armpits and legs.
The children are very interested in what kind of frog this is, we have tried looking online but no luck, we would love to know what kind it is so we can do some more research.
Thanks
:)

2005-01-002.jpg

I'd say Peron's Tree Frog, Litoria peronii
identified by its silver iris & black & yellow inner thigh markings.
Tyler's tree frog has an golden yellow iris & lighter yellow and brown inner thigh markings.
I'm not that good with frog identification so prefer someone confirm or correct this answer.

Last edited:
I'd say Peron's Tree Frog, Litoria peronii
identified by its silver iris & black & yellow inner thigh markings.
Tyler's tree frog has an golden yellow iris & lighter yellow and brown inner thigh markings.
I'm not that good with frog identification so prefer someone confirm or correct this answer.

The picture did turn out yellow, it is really more of a red colour.
Still the same?

Litoria dentata, Bleating Tree Frog

You can faintly see the outline of a pattern on its back, the shape of which is rather distinctive to a group of frogs including in that area;
L.dentata, L.verreauxii, L.revelata

It's male and appears bulkier and larger, with a more rounded snout than L.revelata, and the colour in the thighs and groin appears more diffuse than that of L.verreauxii. L.verreauxii also have black markings within the brighter red-orange colour of their thigh which L.dentata lack, get some pics of the thigh from above if you still have the frog, to be sure.

P.s. Brought out by the rain.