I'm Visiting WA for a month ...want to be friends??? :)

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Obediah2

Reaction score
Hello everyone, this is my first time enjoying your forum and second day in WA. I wouldn't call myself a herper, but I love to see snakes in the wild. I'm here on vacation until the 26th with a rent-car, my wife, and 5-year-old daughter. My daughter loves to see snakes too.

Our visit is mostly to sightsee and have beach time, but I can't pass up the chance to see so many snakes that I've only dreamt of seeing. I'm going to try and hike a bit in these local hills and hope for the best, but if anyone wants to offer advise I would love it.

...or better yet, if anyone wants to act as a guide that would be even better :)

I'm from California, so I get to see a fair number of herps, but nothing like this!!!

In the worst case, I'll just check out all of your pictures and hero from a distance.

i'm in Perth and to be honest you're here at the wrong time of year.

Walking around Herdsman Lake during the mid morning should yield a tiger snake or two.

LanePooleandStirlings-3703.jpg

LanePooleandStirlings-3697.jpg

Driving around in the hills in the evening might net you smething interesting like a carpet python, a parasute or an adder (parasuta below)

_DSC2998.jpg

If you go to the beach you might stumble across a dugite.

_DSC3381.jpg

Also found amongst the beachside dunes are the neat little banded snakes Simoselaps bertholdi

_DSC2059.jpg

There are plenty of herps around, you'll just have to get lucky and find a snake.

-H