Incubator Question

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Connor-McLeod

Reaction score
so i recently purchased a incubator and i started testing the temps and see where they sit in comparison to what i had it set to (31c) and noticed that the build in thermostat brings it up 2 degrees higher then the set temp and then drops down to the set temp (31c). so i tested it i put a thermometer in there and let it go for a day and read the max and min, for 31 it was max 33.8 and min was 30.6C and the next day i tried it set to 30 and its results were max of 32.8 and min of 29.9C so my question is what temp should i set it to? This is my first year breeding so I'm not sure what will harm the eggs and what won't.
Thanks for your time Connor.

You don't say what type of incubator or thermostat but if the thermostat is a simple on/off type it will probably go 2 degrees either way before it switches and will be better to have it a bit lower as you won't do any harm at 29c but 33c is too hot.
A well insulated incubator with a pulse thermostat will keep a stable 31 degree temperature.

You don't say what type of incubator or thermostat but if the thermostat is a simple on/off type it will probably go 2 degrees either way before it switches and will be better to have it a bit lower as you won't do any harm at 29c but 33c is too hot.
A well insulated incubator with a pulse thermostat will keep a stable 31 degree temperature.
The incubator is a wine fridge style and it has a elitech stc-200 thermostat witch i bought second hand previous owner said he had a 99% hatch rate but not sure if that was just to get me sold on it, i have other pulse thermostats i will have a bit of a play and see what happens.
thanks you for the reply yellowtail.