Information on Australian Geckos

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

LennytheGecko

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am new to the Aussie Pythons and Snakes Website and I am finding it to be very useful! and the pictures of everyones lizards and snakes are amazing!
I have been searching the net for information about the Australian Speices of Geckos, the Spiny Tail Geckos. I havent found much info at all othere than just a location map, so I wanted to start upa thread just about Spiny Tail Geckos, How do u tell the gender? what is the best inclosure for them? best way to breed them? the assorted colours they come in(i have only seen the plain grey/black colour)? happy to be handled? best food & drink? any information would be greatly appreicated!!! I attached a map at the bottom that has the natural locations of the geckos.
1) Eastern Spiny Tail Gecko, Intermedia.
2)Western Spiny Tail Gecko, Spinigerus.
3)Soft Spined Gecko, Williamsi
4) Spiny Tailed Gecko, Ciliaris.

Please let me know if I got any of the names wrong. I have just recieved a Western Spiny Tail Gecko and would love any information on them. I will post a pic of my encloser and Lenny when I get my camera back :)

Thanks heaps
Lenny the Gecko

Attachments

• gecko, map.JPG
    gecko, map.JPG
    17.4 KB · Views: 80
all the names you have there are wrong.... lol that was from when they were classed as Diplodactylus....
They are now Strophurus....

Eastern Spinytail - Strophurus williamsi
Northern Spinytail - Strophurus ciliaris
Southern Spinytail - Strophurus intermedius
Western Spinytail - Strophurus strophurus

No probs mate.

Pilbara Pythons ( www.pilbarapythons.com ) is based in WA....

How do u tell the gender?
Hemipenal bulges are easily seen in mature males.

what is the best inclosure for them?