Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

AussieNewbie

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a newbie to keeping herps and I am in the process of getting my license and getting a home for my first one. However, I am interested in getting an Irian Jaya Carpet Python and have heard that they are not available in Australia. Is this true?

Also, what do you guys and gals think is the best snake for a begginer?

Thanks, looking forward to getting to know you all.

That is an unusual choice for a first snake. You will find anything that is not native australian will be very close to impossible to get and keep legally. Check out pics of local aussie pythons, we have some awesome native snakes.
I think the spotted python is ideal for beginners, they are not too big, they are easy to maintain and they are very docile (there are exceptions to every species though!).
Why not try an aussie carpet python, they do grow bigger than spotteds but they are just as easy to keep and can be just as friendly. There are some great colout variations, proserpine, cairns or cape yorks have lots of browns and stripes etc. Do some research, ultimate reptiles' site has some good pics of carpet variations. I love the cairns form!
Good luck,
Cheers
Ad

I have kept the Irian Jaya carpets before in the UK, they are the same subspecies as the Darwin carpet python(Morelai.s.variegata), they are different to the IJ's, but very similar.
I would go for them if you like IJ's.

Neil

Hi AussiNewbie
Its true that u can't get Irian Jaya's but ....
Our North Western Carpet Python/Darwin Carpet Python (Morelia spilota variegata) is actually the same species as the Irian Jaya Carpet Python. Irian Jaya may be more intensly coloured or banded is all.

Doh! u beat me to it NC :)

Hi again,