Jungle Python bioactive Vivarium set up

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Darkwolfzy

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm looking to set up a bioactive enclosure for my jungle python.
Not really sure where to look in regards to this

Does anyone have any tips for setting this up. Where to start.
Also looking into jungle python safe plants to put in the enclosure?

Please help, I'm very new to this and really want to learn

Thankyou heaps

Attachments

• Snapchat-1531018804.jpg
    Snapchat-1531018804.jpg
    115.1 KB · Views: 9
Hey, i just finished a bioactive set up for my 6 year old jungle 'Juno'.
Its super straightforward if you know the basics of bioactive tanks (drainage, substrates, etc).
I did film the entire process and was planning on making a youtube vid but that wont be posted for ages so ill just write a lowdown on what i did.
Hers is a converted cabinet so i had to do substantial waterproofing first but if you have a proper prefab tank you dont have to worry about that stuff. heres the general steps:

background
completely optional but i recon they look phenomenal and take a build from 10/10 to 100/10 real quick. I drilled a bunch of branches/vines into the tank itself and then built up around them with expanding foam (incorporated a couple smaller sticks and bits or bark etc during the process). the background of the cabinet i used was a mirror so i tried to let that shine through in places to give that added depth. Painted the foam with non toxic paint. Theres loads of alternative ways to make backgrounds tho, i recommended googling/youtubing it.

drainage