Jungle python won't eat

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

DecayingCorpses

Reaction score
Hi guys I'm new to owning snakes and my first is a julatten jungle carpet python.
I was told she was eating adult mice and occasionally a rat but she won't eat at all.
She's a year and a half old and she's roughly 4 feet in length.
Her temps are between 27 and 34 depending on the weather outside her tank, time of day, etc.
Her tank is also glass so it has a black sheet draped across the top to cover the sides and back. She also has two hides and a climbing stick.

I've had her since 17th of September and while she has shown signs of hunger on multiple occasions including tonight (such as making an s shape and waiting or striking for no reason at the tank, herself and us), no matter what I do she just won't take.
I was also told she was fed a week or so before I got her.

If anyone has any tips that could help, please let me know.

I've tried warming under the tap after defrost period, dipping head of warm mouse in boiling water for 10 seconds, splitting the head open, both adult and hopper mice (at different attempts) and I've even tried assist feeding. All of which have failed, so maybe I'm doing something wrong? Any assistance would be appreciated.

Welcome to APS.
Don't stress if your python isn't eating, as long as it still looks healthy. Has she eaten for you at all?
Why is your temp fluctuating that much? What are you using to heat the tank, and what kind of thermostat?
The striking could be a sign of her being stressed, or defensive which is a very common jungle trait.

Welcome to APS.
Don't stress if your python isn't eating, as long as it still looks healthy. Has she eaten for you at all?
Why is your temp fluctuating that much? What are you using to heat the tank, and what kind of thermostat?